Testimonials

We take great pride in taking care of our guests and their tailormade travel plans in Peru, Bolivia and the Galapagos. Our travellers are our best advocates, and they frequently recommend our specialist travel services to friends, colleagues and family when planning a trip to our region.

Along with sharing their thoughts on tripadvisor forums, such as this one here, and on social media, such as Aracari facebook reviews here, here’s what more of them have had to say in their honest testimonials on travelling with Aracari:

The trip was perfect despite the rain. We enjoyed the train services and the boys had a lot of fun. Our Guide, Johan, was very competent. He knows a lot about Machu Picchu, Cuszco and the Region. Also for our kids he took time and answered their questions. So they were always competing to stay on his side. It was a great experience! Thank you for the organization and support.

- Patricia Braunsperger, January 2018

Marisol was very accommodating to our group and all of our individual needs, patiently creating three separate itineraries for us with enough overlap to make us feel like we were on a memorable trip together. We’d like to give a special shout out to Adriana, our intrepid guide to Machu Picchu who was able to charm our entire group, with ages ranging from 3 to 73!

Read this review on Wendy Perrin

- Joy Li, February 2018

I confess I had a complicated wish list — start in the Atacama (Chile), spend time on the Salar de Uyuni (Bolivia) and end in the Galapagos (Ecuador). Fortunately, Marisol and Mark Green on her team were up to the planning task. They accommodated every request — including finding a star-gazing experience on the Atacama during the almost full moon (hard to come by) and setting up a three-day stay in an Airstream parked in the middle of the Salar de Uyuni. The “in-betweens” were mini-adventure unto themselves. From the Atacama to the salt flats, we drove through the Andes with stops to walk in a geyser field and see the Red Lagoon. So too, Bolivia to Galapagos leg allowed for time to see La Paz and Quito and learn a bit more about the history and culture of both Bolivia and Ecuador. All of our guides were terrific — knowledgeable and accommodating us if we had requests that were different from our planned itinerary. The M/Y Grace in the Galapagos provided the perfect ending to a well-planned trip. Marisol and her team definitely delivered an adventure where we could focus on the beauty and wonder around us. Simply put, it was amazing.

Read this review on Wendy Perrin

- Nancy Lundebjerg, February 2018

Mark at Aracari put together an incredible trip to Bolivia for my dad and I. We were treated like rock stars from the moment we arrived and were greeted by Javier, and our tour guide Alan bent over backwards- visiting every place we wanted to go, answering every little question we had, and making sure everything went as smoothly as possible. I would gladly travel with Aracari again and recommend it to everyone!

- Jennifer Weinberg, May 2017

A few words to tell you that all our group was extremely happy with your service, the organization and your guides. All was just amazing. We can only highly recommend you. We will remember you when we will think about Galapagos

- Alois Sommer, November 2017

Claudia, your attention to detail, the documentation and follow-up on our itinerary (both prior to and during our trip) were terrific. And everything happened as planned and promised: drivers and guides showed up at the right times and places; entry and bus tickets were in hand; and we got to see what we planned to see.  We were thankful for the warning you gave us about the possible general strike in the Urubamba region that could have adversely affected our being able to get to our train in Ollantaytambo…particularly thankful because you alerted us in plenty of time to allow us to make necessary changes in our hotel arrangements and in the sequence of second day of our tours in the Sacred Valley.

My wife and I have always been amazed, when we travel to different parts of the world, just how little we actually know about the people and places we visit and the history of those places.  What we enjoy is learning a bit of what we don’t know.  Perhaps that is why we appreciated Javier in Lima so much.  He was clearly knowledgeable and took the time and made the effort to impart to us as much as we could absorb.

- John Clever, June 2017

The trip, overall, was spectacular. I was, for the most part, incredibly impressed by Aracari’s service. From the moment we came out of customs, Aracari was waiting for us – and we were immediately assisted with our luggage and escorted to our vehicle. Unfortunately, I cannot remember the gentleman’s name that escorted us, but he was very informative on our drive to the hotel, checked us in, answered all of our questions and gave us a few tips. He was additionally very pleasant and spoke beautiful English.

Oscar, who gave us the Lima city tour, was a wealth of knowledge. I could not believe how much he history he knew, so well-informed and able to answer every question we had during our tour. Really, really great tour and great with our family. The tour surpassed my expectations and we were so pleased with Oscar.

Once we left Lima, we headed to Cusco where we spent several days with Jonathan. All of our arrangements and transportation were seamless — we were completely taken care of and did not have to worry about a single issue.

Jonathan was beyond great with our family. Again — so, so knowledgeable about the area, eager to make our trip the best possible, and really great with my kids as well as with my husband and me. Spending several days with a family on private tours, I’m certain, can be a difficult job. Jonathan performs it to perfection – knowing when to give information, when to let us rest, and always, always working hard to make our vacation the best possible. I cannot say enough nice things about our time with Jonathan and any family that lands him as a tour guide is lucky. He knew exactly what to do when my kids suffered mild altitude sickness upon arrival to Cusco, and later coordinated all of our hospital care once my daughter got sick with food poisoning. I was grossly out-of-shape for my trek to machu picchu, but he made sure that we made it – at the pace that was right for us. He gave us a wonderful tour and went out of his way to make sure that we had every opportunity to see everything. I’m fairly certain that some of his days ran a little longer than they should have. He gave his time without reservation and made our time with him a truly wonderful experience that we will cherish always. I told him if he ever comes to New York that we will give him a tour — and I mean it!! He is really a smart, hard-working, wonderful man and he will always hold a special place in our hearts.

- Syna Brenton, September 2017

We recently completed a tour with you (Peru – Colca Canyon & Inca Trail) and want to thank you for putting together such a first class, and wonderful trip. We always felt we were well taken care of, and treated incredibly well. The hotels and tours were all great. We would highly recommend you to others (I already have!). A couple points of note. First, Abelardo, our guide from Cusco through the Inca Trail + was amazing. He was the best! Knowledgeable, flexible to work to our level but never pushy, an excellent guide, and most important, a good person that was easy to be with. He was great. Also of note, Raul was also amazing – very much a gentleman who was incredibly knowledgeable and helpful, and made us feel comfortable throughout. Thank you for putting everything together for us, and for making it such a great trip.

- Bruce Caplain, May 2017

Our trip was a superb, truly enlightening and thoroughly pleasurable experience. We were thrilled with the birding. The country is so beautiful. The people in the countryside so hard working. The women working in the fields really stood out in my mind. I loved the indigenous history, geography, topography, spectacular crafts, especially weaving and gourd carving.

I think we all agree that (our guide), Carlos, is a national treasure. We hope to see him again on a future trip to his marvelous country.

Our profound thanks also to Mark Green for his insightful planning, logistical know-how and thoughtfully selected lodgings and restaurants. You can be sure we will recommend Aracari Tours to anyone we know wishing to travel to Peru.

- Gail Hull, October 2017

I recently reached out to Mark at Aracari through the Wendy Perrin referral website. I have always dreamed of experiencing Peru and especially Machu Picchu but thought it would be so difficult to navigate the travel and the experience would be way out of our budget. I was thrilled to hear back from Mark and see all the amazing things he planned for us to experience within our budget. He was even able to fit in a trip to the Amazon which is what sold my husband on the idea.

We were so busy leading up to the trip that I kind of panicked two days before we left thinking  there must be something I was forgetting but Mark had everything booked and organized for us. Upon arrival at every destination, there was someone waiting to escort us and our bags to the next stop where someone else would be waiting to help! It was SO stress free!

Peru itself was magical with every detail planned out by Aracari! We even joke that they planted the rainbow for my 30th birthday on Machu Picchu! It was truly a magical experience. Their tag line is absolutely perfect as they plan a authentic experience in pure luxury! The great thing about Peru is that there is SO much to see and we are already planning out next trip there and would not dream of going without the help of Mark and his team!

Also from WendyPerrin.com:

Marisol and her staff planned a fabulous trip that was so luxurious and authentic. We had a small budget but they still seemed to make everything first class. The staff is incredibly welcoming and accommodating. The hotels we stayed at were so unique and the experiences unforgettable! I will NEVER travel outside of the US without a service like this again!

- Kate Moore, June 2017